• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

The Letters - Update December 21, 2008

Wilkey,
Thanks for sharing all of this. I'm a bit of a novice but have wondered about this sort of stuff.

Up next I'll present some examples of how people who have received these letters have responded. Shortly thereafter, information about the real life consequences of violating the Trading with the Enemy Act and Helms Burton (Cuban Democracy Act) laws.

Wilkey

It has also been reported that the new letter(s) have been sent to people who have never had any item seized.

Badhangover,

Yes, that's right. This is a new wrinkle. We've wondered whether or not a seizure puts one at greater risk for receiving either of the new letters. At this point, there just is not enough information to say.

Wilkey

It is interesting to note just how widespread this concern has become. Vendors across the globe, and not just in Asia, are modifying their "techniques" in response to the current climate.

Wilkey,
Is there any correlation to when someone placed an order and when the letters were mailed. For example, you say the time frame was late 2004 and early 2005. Did people who ordered in 2004 get their letter sooner or later than those in 2005? I only ask because this consideration was never touched upon.

Thanks for the informative read.
Darren

How have people responded to these letters?

The C-Letter
This letter has been known for years. I have not heard of a case where a person did anything other than ignore this letter. I have not heard of any consequences as a result of this action.

The W-Letter