• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

could use a little help.

tlojak41

Hello. Im new to both the cigar scene and owning a humidor. I recently bought a nice vintage humidor, This is my first one, so i have a few questions. I hope i dont sound too much like a newb. Ok, I got this thing and knew it needed re-seasoned,(I did do some reading before i invested) so, i decided to go the easy season pillow pack,(Boveda). I checked the hygrometer with the salt test, adjusted, then left in for 24 hours more to make sure it was right, then left it out of the bag to watch function. Then I loaded it into the front of the humidor. Ive had the pack in for about 5 days now, and im concerned. When i put the hygrometer in, it dipped to 55% humidity, and stayed there for two days, then it jumped to 59% and hasn't moved since. I checked the seal, and it seems to be ok. I know the hygrometer is working. could anyone give me anything else to check?. i have some cigars ordered and I dont want to pick them up until i know the humidor is right and ready to go. Thanks for any help anyone can give. The newb...

As I understand it having the humidor at least half full of cigars will help regulate the humidity. Even if you get it spot on, when you add the cigars it will likely change as they will release or absorb humidity based on how wet or dry they are when you add them to the humidor.

shouldnt the humidor be properly seasoned before i add cigars? I read that if i add cigars before its seasoned properly, the cedar will draw the moisture out of the cigars and dry them out.

Do you,have enough paks in there to cover the cu. in. Of the humi or just enough to cover the current amount of the,sticks? You can not over do the Boveda paks.