• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

25,000 Bees!

nfulton

I decided to try my hand at raising honey bees this summer. I spent the winter and spring building two apairies and getting ready. The Post Office called me at 6:30 this morning to tell me I had a package and it sounded angry. I picked them up and headed out to put them in the boxes. Keep in mind this is my first time and I am learning from books and a beekeepers event that I attended a few months back. Everything went well until I popped the lids and started shaking thousands of bees into their new homes. It didn't take long to get my heart pumping. They are much louder than I had anticipated and they knew I was the a**hole shaking them around. Anyhow, they are in the boxes and hopefully settling in and munching away at the simple syrup. Anyone else raise bees? I'd love to hear some good advice.

gallery_2712_32_78820.jpg

What a great idea. This is something I have thought about for a while. Keep us posted

There weren't any cigars in those boxes, were there? This years crop of noobs were pretty creative with their bombs.

This sounds really cool, I can't wait to see how this goes for you. Good luck.

I love how far away the pic is...lol was the misses scared or something.

Please keep us posted.

Paul

Please keep us posted.

Paul

I didn't get stung once. At least not that I noticed. I actually took my dad out with me. He wouldn't come within 50' of the boxes and I'm surprised he got close enough to take the picture. He spend most of the time in the truck yelling something about not having an epi pen! :laugh:

Please keep us posted.

Paul