• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Converting my walk-in into a wine cellar.

Light this!

Licensed to Kill
Gentlemen, I'm converting my cigar walk-in into a wine cellar. I enjoy wine and know a bit about it but was wondering if I needed to do anything else. For all you wine enthusiasts, what is the ideal temp/humidity and what type of modifications do I have to make? Any help is greatly appreciated.

I'm going to remove the shelves and purchase some wine racks from the Wine Enthusiast.

Thanks
Kristopher

this sounds like an awesome idea!  Very jealous and looking forward to some pics/process updates.

I have been storing wine for about 20 years, with great success. The experts vary wildly on temp and humidity, but the general consensus is 55 degrees and 70 percent humidity. The main things to avoid are light and temp variations... My actual temp is about 58 degrees, and my humidity in my wine cellar is 68 percent...

Great idea, and I am looking forward to trying some of your wine :thumbs:

Temp Range should be 45-65 degrees with 55 being the optimal. Humidity between 50% and 80% with 65-70% being consider optimal.

CigSid hit it pretty much on the head. If you are within this range you need to be more concerned with major influx in temp, UV light and vibration than anything else. You might need to add some insulation into your walkin before turning it into a cellar which can be a bit of a pain but not to hard to do. Besides if you keep it at 55-60 degrees and 62%-68% humidity you can still hide a box or two of cigars in the back :whistling:

Napa_Smokes said:

Besides if you keep it at 55-60 degrees and 62%-68% humidity you can still hide a box or two of cigars in the back :whistling:

I know you've seen the Jar humidors from different cigar manufactures.....how about a wine bottle humi! 

modo22 said: