• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Educate me Please

MrAnderson41

Cool Story 'Bro!
After reading the board it seems like you guys are very down on Cohibas (red dots). I understand that the Cuban brand is far superior but seeing as how they are unavailable in the states they are not an option for me.

I really enjoy my red dots particularly the strong finish they have. However, since I am new to the Cigar world and very open to try different smokes, please educate me. What Cigars of better quality should I try if I enjoy Cohibas?

TIA

Honestly, if you enjoy the smoke, it doesn't matter what anyone else says or thinks. The Cohiba red dots are a Dominican brand ? if i remember correctly and is not actually related to the Cuban brand other than by name. As far as "superior", that may not be the case. CC have a tendency to be fake or lack in construction (tighter draw).

" Educate me Please " - the last time I said that, it cost me $500!!!!!

Like what you smoke, Smoke what you like!

I have not done it yet, but if you haven't tried many cigars, I would recommend doing the newbie trade and having one of the great guys from the board hook you up with a sampler. A great chance to get to know some people and a get a variety of sticks as well. I am going to take my own advice one of these days and do it too. :)

Thanks for the advice guys. I guess what I was really trying to ask is that if I like a Cohiba what are some similar Cigars that I might also enjoy.

Thanks for the advice guys. I guess what I was really trying to ask is that if I like a Cohiba what are some similar Cigars that I might also enjoy.

Oh...you should have said so!

Dunno, havn't had a Red Dot in some time.

Try the 'newbie sampler' thread and ask for somethings similar! :thumbs:

Oh...you should have said so!

Dunno, havn't had a Red Dot in some time.