• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

How long to age Trinidad Reyes

pulse746

I was lucky enough to get my hands on a box of Trinidad Reyes, one of the best cigars I have ever smoked. It's a young box though with a date of May 2014. For the Trinidad smokers out there, how long should I age these before I start to smoke them? I know the general consensus is that these need age but I am not sure how much. I have very little experience with Cuban cigars.
[sharedmedia=gallery:images:12470]
[sharedmedia=gallery:images:12473]

[sharedmedia=gallery:images:12472]
[sharedmedia=gallery:images:12471]

Smoke one now, because you won't have anything to judge the aging process against.  Then smoke one every 6 months or so, you should be able to notice subtle changes.

Got an April 2014 box and smoked one a couple of weeks ago. The first quarter of it screamed potential with the greatest floral, creamy, lightly spicy flavors and then....nothing. Muted, bland flavor. Look forward to trying another late this year/early next to see how they progress. Will probably pick up an additional box just because of the binge I'll go on once they are in full bloom.

Each box is different but figure 3-4 years for its best.  But i would smoke one every six months to find a period you like and smoke the majority then.

From what I've read and heard, current Trinidad's are not good, you should avoid them unless hand picked or selected from a trusted vendor.

Hope you got lucky.

C

CMontoya79 said:
From what I've read and heard, current Trinidad's are not good, you should avoid them unless hand picked or selected from a trusted vendor.

Hope you got lucky.

C
That's not good news!! The last Reyes I had in June 2014 was fantastic and smoked it the day I bought it from the retailer. Can't imagine it was that old. Hopefully this box is the same.