• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Is 54% Too Dry for a Cigar Just Received via UPS?

Jared Nomack

Vintage Human
I've been thinking some cigars I have received (from a well-known site) were overyly dry. So I ordered a CigarMedics Humidimeter (from a different site). Pack of A.Flores Serie Privada SP54's arrived today. Box was on the porch for an hour or so, it's raining outside here, very humid. Immediately tested it with the Humidimeter. This seems dry to me, but I'm fairly new to this, so wondering your opinions?

20210227_141922 (2).jpg

I'm sure one of the more knowledgable S/BOTL will give you a good answer, but in the mean time, google "resting cigars" and you will find many excellent answers.

Not sure how accurate that meter is. Toss them in your humidor, wait a few days and you'll be fine.

BTW - I always use the squeeze method. Lightly pinch the foot of the cigar - if it cracks and feels really stiff, it's too dry. It should be slightly pliable.

First of all, the reading is based on relative humidity... without going into a long scientific explanation, it supposedly uses ambient temperature, combined with the moisture in the cigar to give a reading. Second, after reading a number of reviews, the readings are all over the place. For example, after testing this on a box of cigars the measurements were from the low 50’s to the high 60’s (from the same box) My opinion, this is a cool tool, but like Rod said, just lightly squeezing the cigar between thumb and forefinger you can tell if it is dry, or too moist...

Thanks, guys, I appreciate the replies.