• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Laptop suggestions

bilder

Well my old Compaq finally bit the dust over the weekend, so it is time to buy a new laptop computer.

Been awhile since I bought a new one and have no idea what brands are considered the good ones these days. What would you all suggest for a laptop in the $500-$1000 range?

I've been using Dells for the past 10 years and can't complain. I'll be getting the new Dell XPS Studio Laptop soon. Purchased the Dell XPS 420 last year and love it. Everyone has their own opinion, however as far as reliability goes, I've had the best luck with Dell. If you get an XPS, you'll get the red carpet treatment from Dell.

I've been using Dells for the past 10 years and can't complain. I'll be getting the new Dell XPS Studio Laptop soon. Purchased the Dell XPS 420 last year and love it. Everyone has their own opinion, however as far as reliability goes, I've had the best luck with Dell. If you get an XPS, you'll get the red carpet treatment from Dell.

This.

BTW Rod.... Have any old Dell laptops sitting around that you'd sell/trade? I love scrapping together laptop parts and re-building them.

Edit: Toshiba and Lenovo also make solid laptops.

This.

BTW Rod.... Have any old Dell laptops sitting around that you'd sell/trade? I love scrapping together laptop parts and re-building them.

If you had asked me this a couple years ago I would have had plenty. I got rid of all the old stuff. :)

Look around for a LG brand laptop (R510 - Rosolina - P8600) it has a red case and is simply one of the nicest laptops I've had the pleasure to work on in a over a year.

And it wasn't too expensive either, costing around 599 dollars (on sale)

It rated a healthy 4,6 on the windows Vista performance chart and that means its fast enough to game.