• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Propylene Glycol Concentration for 65% RH

FoMoCo

I have searched for information on using PG to maintain a RH level of 65% with little success. I have found differing opinions on the feasibility of this but without any confirmation either way. So I thought I would run a brief test to investigate it for myself. I prepared PG / distilled water solutions with concentrations of 80/20, 67/33, and 50/50. I applied the solution to oasis foam and sealed them in a Tupperware container with a calibrated hygrometer. I am not a scientist, but I did try to control the variables in testing such that the only significant change was the PG / water concentration.

Results:
50/50 = 70% +/-1 - baseline
67/33 = 65% +/-1
80/20 = 60% +/-1

Questions:
Did I miss the thread that already covered this?
Anyone else using PG to maintain 65%?
Are these experimental results expected theoretically?

Before you reply with "Get 65% beads", I am aware of the bead products and may try them in the future. However, I had PG and distilled water on hand and was curious if it would maintain 65% RH.

I have searched for information on using PG to maintain a RH level of 65% with little success. I have found differing opinions on the feasibility of this but without any confirmation either way. So I thought I would run a brief test to investigate it for myself. I prepared PG / distilled water solutions with concentrations of 80/20, 67/33, and 50/50. I applied the solution to oasis foam and sealed them in a Tupperware container with a calibrated hygrometer. I am not a scientist, but I did try to control the variables in testing such that the only significant change was the PG / water concentration.

Results:
50/50 = 70% +/-1 - baseline
67/33 = 65% +/-1
80/20 = 60% +/-1

Questions:
Did I miss the thread that already covered this?