• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Setting up my first Humidor

gt3911

Hello all,

Sorry – another noob here.

I’ve had a few things running through my head recently but kept refraining from making a topic as I didn’t want to rush into questions that didn’t really need asking. But I feel now that I could really appreciate some advice as I’m quite cautious and don’t want to damage anything.

I got my first humidor this last Sunday, nothing amazing, it has a capacity of 80 cigars.

I’m going to admit this… My order arrived, humidor and cigars – GREAT! *thinks – hmm shame it didn’t come with any instructions / advice… ah well I’ll fill her up and go do some reading ---- oh damn, time to empty her now!* ooops.

So, after emptying the humidor, I put a shot glass in there with water, but left the humidifier uncharged, as I placed some solution on order, I became concerned that after 24hrs the hygrometer was reading 40.. I felt this was too low but wanted to wait to see what this solution stuff was all about!

So, my solution arrived, and then I became confused about how much to use, I was quite worried about using too much, I’d heard mentions of people using squirts – but how big is a squirt?! I used the solution found here with a generic humidifier identical to this here so I started to put little drops of solution onto the foam, literally a tea spoons worth, and thought, surely we’ll need to use more than this.. so then I dropped a few more drops in eventually after dribbling more in, I noticed the foam seems to soak it up a lot, and soon looked ‘dry’ like it wanted more, I probably ended up with around 40mm in there, and left it tipped upside down for 1hr to allow any drips to drip (which didn’t occur) to ensure it wasn’t too wet.