• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Smoking a humidor seasoned cigar outside

AJD

Hello! I’m relatively new to smoking cigars. I’ve been learning the art of maintaining cigars in a humidor. First off I live on the west coast of Florida. My home is a constant 74 degrees and my cigars are kept in a wood humidor which safely holds 40 cigars. I used Boveda to season it and now use a 72 percent pack to maintain. I have a digital Xikar hygrometer in the humidor and also calibrated it which shows it’s Rh reading reads 3 percent lower than the “actual” Rh. So my cigars are stored at around 73-74 degrees with Rh floating around 64-65 percent humidity.
Since I can’t smoke in my home I’m mainly smoking outside on the lanai. Is this drastic increase in Rh doing a job on my smoking experience? Do the cigars still hold on to their humidity controlled state in this kind of environment?
Thanks!!

First: Go the introduction forum and introduce yourself so we know who we are welcoming.

Second: Tell us how you got 64-65 from 72 Boveda or the Xikar reading 3 low? 64-65 is a tad low, for long term storage, but nothing dramatic. I can't speak from experience because I don't live in a similar climate but I have never had a problem when I visit the Sunshine State.

First: Go the introduction forum and introduce yourself so we know who we are welcoming.

Second: Tell us how you got 64-65 from 72 Boveda or the Xikar reading 3 low? 64-65 is a tad low, for long term storage, but nothing dramatic. I can't speak from experience because I don't live in a similar climate but I have never had a problem when I visit the Sunshine State.