• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

To Age a Cigar?

TonyDogs

Banned
I am new to cigar pass.
So is it worth to age cigars?
If yes, do you dedicate a humidor to age the cigars?
What kind of cigars do you age? 80 rating and up?

I have only been smoking cigar over a year now. I take it seriously.

I am building my collection so that I have nothing under 80 rating in it. :D

I would like to know if I age a cigar is it going to taste better?

Thanks
TonyDogs ;)

Age changes the flavor profile of a cigar...Sometimes not for the better. Grab a handful of like cigars. Smoke one now. Take notes on it. Smoke another a few months down the road. Repeat until you find out the profile you like. You may not like the aged ones or you may love em. All a matter of opinion.

I will say that usually lack the discipline to let my cigars age, but I'm working on it. I recently participated in a newbie trade with LucasBuck, however, and it gave me the opportunity to compare aged to non-aged. In the trade he sent me an aged Ashton VSG, and I happened to have a recent Ashton VSG already sitting in the humidor. The cigars were remarkably different, with the aged cigar giving a smoother but still powerful experience, compared to the more over-the-top taste of the "fresh" VSG. It's always possible that the VSG blend of different years accounted for more of the difference than the age, but it was a data point in favor of aging.

Aging will sure mellow them out. I smoke a cigar every 6 months or so to compare the differences. The Cohiba Esplendido I smoked over the weekend mellowed considerably!

Ree

I just put 'em in the bottom of my coolerdor so I can't really get to 'em.