• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Classical Music Challenge - Brahms Symphony no. 1

coopsdeloops

Background
As a classical musician, I wanted to do a friendly little competition here at CP to spread along two of my favorite hobbies, cigars and classical music. If you choose to participate in the challenge, I thank you for your participation in advance, as the intention of this thread is to expose some people who might not normally listen to classical music to a fantastic work, and to share a bit of the generosity that I've been given and shown by my Brothers of the Leaf here.

I frequently talk to others about Classical music and am always puzzled by how intimidated people are. Some people just assume that it is old and moldy, and even though they haven't listened to much of it, it surely must be boring. Others believe that you must have a degree in music to understand any of it, and therefore they simply don't give it a listen. Still others think that classical music has a place in society: in elevators and shopping malls to slow down street kids.

I perform in various groups including the Phoenix Symphony and sometimes my friends come to hear me play. When I ask them if they enjoyed the concert, I usually get an answer similar to, "Well, I liked it, but I don't know about music so I'm not sure if it was good or not." Whenever someone gives me one of these answers or looks, I usually tell them the same thing, which strangely sounds like our advice when it comes to picking cigars to smoke: "Listen to what you like, and don't listen to what you don't like." If it sounded good to you, then you liked it. If it sounded like noise, then you didn't like it. It's really as simple as that.