• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Can a knowledgeable individual shed some light on the topic

Marine6186

...oh you want me to say something.
Evening folks, while I have been smoking cigars for roughly 10 years I may have had one or two CCs. I have never thought the risk was worth the reward. I am lucky enough to have a plentiful amount of authorized shops within two hours from my home and decided I want to make a weekend trip with my fiance.

I went to CBP.gov and it directed me to Treasury.gov and I found this item:

"32. Can I purchase Cuban-origin cigars and/or Cuban-origin rum or other Cuban-origin alcohol while in a third country (i.e. not Cuba)? Yes, persons subject to U.S. jurisdiction may purchase or acquire Cuban-origin merchandise, including alcohol and tobacco products, while in a third country for personal consumption. Such products may be consumed while in a third country, or imported into the United States as accompanied baggage for personal use only. For a complete description of what this general license authorizes and the restrictions that apply, see 31 CFR § 515.585(c) and (d)."

I also went to CFR § 515.585(c) and (d) and nothing caught my eye except:

"Note 3 to § 515.585: This section does not authorize any transaction prohibited by § 515.204, including the purchase or sale of Cuban-origin goods."

So I went there, and I feel like it contradicts itself because § 515.204 states:

"(a) Except as specifically authorized by the Secretary of the Treasury (or any person, agency, or instrumentality designated by him) by means of regulations, rulings, instructions, licenses, or otherwise, no person subject to the jurisdiction of the United States may purchase, transport, import, or otherwise deal in or engage in any transaction with respect to any merchandise outside the United States if such merchandise: