• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Texas Sweets : A moderately sweet review.

Arkvile

So I was recently given a Texas Sweets cigar by a friend. I really had no knowledge of it other than the name, and so I posted another thread asking about the hole I found in the head. Seeing as how I'm still relatively new to cigars, I was not sure if I was to cut the head, or smoke from the hole.

I was soon informed it was most likely a pre-fabricated hole, and there was concern shown that the pre-fab'd cigars we're usually not up to par.

So I decided I would smoke it, and in turn post a review to let everyone know, seeing as how no one seemed to have heard of it before.

Before hand though I did a little online research and it turns out it came from a locally owned cigar company, Finck's. Seemed to be a house brand or something.

"We use a terrific blend of Nicaraguan and Honduran medium cut filler, Connecticut binder and Indonesian wrapper to give them a smooth, satisfying taste." -Finck Cigar Company

So as I sat out on my porch late one warm South Texas night, I lit it up, and gave it a few initial puffs.

Not bad.

The draw was a bit too tight for my taste, but it wasn't unpleasant to smoke. From the beginning of the smoke 'til about halfway through it had a very sweet mild taste, and as it got closer to the middle and end the sweet seemed to mellow out and I was left with a very pleasant mild tasting cigar.

So this is a rather short review comparitively speaking, but it's a first. I wouldn't mind smoking another one of these, definately not the best I have had so far, but not the worst (made the mistake of starting my cigar journey with a Phillies :blush: ).

Any thoughts on how I might make a better review?