• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

How long does nicotine stay in your system?

beyond the band

cantankerous newb
I am going to be getting a new life insurance policy such requires blood work. I smoke just about every day.
Anyone ever go through this?
How long should I stay clean?

As long as you're telling the insurance company you don't use tobacco. :(

I got a great policy from a company that ranks cigar smokers as "non-smokers". I'm not a lawyer, and you do what your conscience tells you, but imagine this scenario:

- You "clean up" long enough to pass the blood work and are issued a "non smoker" policy.
- The grim reaper makes an unfortunate and early call on you.
- Your family files for your life insurance. During the life insurance co's investigation (they all will do one), it's determined that you smoke cigars.
- The insurance company invalidates your policy on the grounds that you falsified the facts (ie, lied) to get the policy.
- Your beneficiaries don't get jack. In fact, they may be counter sued for the costs of the investigation surrounding the filing of their claim.

Maybe a stretch, but personally I'm not willing to risk my loved ones benefits if I check out early.

One man's opinion - B.B.S.

Roughly I'd say at least two weeks, maybe a little more if you're actually an everyday smoker. Find out if the company you're going with has an exception for cigar smokers or an "occasional smoker" rate which generally is for folks who smoke less than a set limit. Without getting into trouble with your agent, I'd phrase it like this, "Regarding the tobacco use, I do occasionally have a cigar if it's a guys poker night or sometimes on the golf course, is that going to be a problem?"