• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Potato Vodka?

TOFan

Can anyone recommend a good potato vodka for making mixed drinks with? We are throwing a party during Passover and a few of our guests are kosher.

A good friend is Orthodox, but a drinker. I'll get back to you as soon as he gives me some input.

WWW.ColdRiverVodka.Com

Don't know if it's Kosher, but it is made from potatoes.

Michael

Not sure if they're kosher but there are two excellent potato vodkas distilled in Rigby, Idaho. Blue Ice and Teton Glacier.

AVB, interesting read, thanks. I am by no means an expert int eh laws of Kashrut nor those that surround Passover, but just because something is Kosher (like the Vodkas mentioned), they are not neccesarily Kosher for Passover.
That aside, I've been known to eat a shrimp salad sandwich during passover, so 'm not exactly one to talk (Shrimp is never kosher, and you can't eat bread during passover).

I've never heard of different levels of Kosherness but, like you, I'm not an expert either.

I have no clue about Kosherness more or less. I just did a quick meta search and it appears there is a differentiation made for items during Passover. That being said here is a link to a listing of vodkas approved for Passover.

The link is a bit hinky, here is the list in case that doesn't work:

Q: Can one imbibe vodka without a reliable Kosher certification?

ANSWER:
All unflavored may be used, with the exception of vodkas which are derived from grapes, such as Hangar One and Ciroc, and those made from milk such as Vermont Spirits’ White Vodka.

Flavored vodka must bear certification.

The following vodkas are certified Kosher Parve when bearing the OU symbol:
- Canadian Iceberg Vodka
- Goldenbarr Chocolate Vodka
- Jelinek Plum Vodka
- Mishka Citron Vodka
- Mishka Orange Vodka
- Mishka Vodka
- Moskovskaya Imported Russian Vodka