• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Homemade Empanadas

ironpeddler

Ye Old Newbie
My reason for tackling this dish was that I eat them frequently while on the road for a quick lunch and recently had a bunch of lousy ones which left me saying to myself...'I got to be able to make a better one than this'....and before all you long time empanada makers out there start busting my balls about how I do it and the techniques I'm incorporating, please remember I'm new at making them and hopefully will get better at it over time. 

I did minimal trial & error with the dough recipes (with mostly great results) and what I'm posting is what I've now made a half dozen times. I made one batch of dough for each type of meat. 

Dough....

3 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda 
1/4 cup peanut or vegetable oil
1 cup warm water
1/2 teaspoon annato seed (for color)....I did this once and I didn't care for the reddish color

When I make the dough, I use my KitchenAid mixer because it makes this part so easy. First thing I do is sift the flour into the mixing bowl because I find it makes a nice smooth dough with no lumps. If you don't have a sifter, use a wire strainer and shake the flour into the bowl...same thing. Then I add the salt, the baking powder & baking soda, and then mix all the dry ingredients together before adding the liquids. I warm the water in the microwave and then add the oil to that so they are both warm. Slowly add in the liquid as the mixer is running and before you know it, you have a nice ball of dough. I switch over to the dough hook and let that run for 5-6 minutes. Put the dough aside so it can rest while you make the meats. This recipe yields 12 empanadas of about 6" in length. 

A7E38F67-0E80-4C2F-92AE-98568540D9A6_zps8ixkvtvu.jpg