• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Humidor Modifications

gandolf565

CP Wizard. Watch as I make this cigar disappear!
As promised here are pictures of the cooling unit I put in my humidor. I used a DDC controller for the logic. A simple thermostat would have worked, but I do building controls for a living, so why not go all the way :)

The actual cooling unit is a peltier device, it runs on 12v power at about 5 amps. I am controlling the unit using proportional control. What this means is that the farther away from the setpoint (70F) the more juice gets sent to the peltier device. I set this up to heat or cool as needed.

The thermostat has several functions. I can independantly set the cooling and heating setpoints, I can tuen the internal fans on, or let them run only when the unit is cooling or heating. I can set the unit to run fully automatic, heat only, cool only or OFF. The default display on the thermostat is the internal temperature of the humidor, it will also display the room temperature and the percentage of cooling or heating (proportional control). It will also turn the lights on with the press of a button and automatically turn them off after 5 minutes with a warning flash of the lights at the 4 minute mark.

I used a 12.4 amp switching power supply just in case I need to add another peltier device. The humidor will eventually be put in my son's room (if he ever moves out :laugh: ) and in the interest of economy I do not plan on heating or cooling the room unless I am actually in there.

Without further ado, the pictures:

humi003.jpg

The thermostat

humi002.jpg

The interior with lights off (I have yet to mount them permanently)

humi001.jpg

Lights on

humi004.jpg

The exterior goodies

humi005.jpg