• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Humidty level

jje5090

I have a cheaper desktop humidor that I got for my birthday last year from my grandfather. My humidity is reading right around 64-66%. I was just wondering if this is a good amount. I know it is supposed to be at around 70-72% but I'm still new to this and don't want any of my Cigars to go bad.

You'll find that everyone has their own preference on what humidity level to store cigars at. Certain cigars will smoke better at around 65% and other will smoke better around 70%. Personally I try to keep my cigars right about 65-67%. To each his own really. Basically, if your cigars are not dried out and cracking, or not too wet to smoke, then you're good to go!

If you have not done so already, salt test your hygrometer to make sure it's calibrated. You'll find the "how-to" thread at the top of this section. Pick up a digital hygrometer to make sure you're getting the most accurate reading (again, if you have not done so already).

_craig_

I do have a digital hygrometer along with an analog one (it looks nice in the humi) I personally have no problem with cracking. Usually cigars don't last too long in there anyway I do have one from back in August in there that still feels nice though.

jje5090 - greetings.

First off, no dis, but your hygrometer isn't worth jack until you calibrate it. You can do the "salt test" (search these pages) and when you do, put the test environment in an old mayo or Ball jar...not a ziploc bag. Lots better results...lots more consistant. Or, just buy a Bovida Hygrometer Calibration Kit and do it the easy way... :cool: The Bovida kit is a great way to go, and it's only a few bucks. Not that the salt test isn't accurate, but the Bovida packs are so...simple.