• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Question About Pipe Tobacco Strength

rdj735

Can you seasoned pipe smokers tell me if there are blends out there that have the body of cigar smoke? I've been smoking cigars for several years, but am a noob with the pipe. I've had four different blends from the local shop, some of which had good flavor, but none with much body or strength. I was hoping to find something with a bit of oomph... When I finish a bowl, I don't really feel like I've smoked anything. Do I need to keep searching for blends, am I smoking the pipe incorrectly, or do I just have unrealistic expectations?

You'll likely have to smoke some English or Balkans in order to get close. Some Virginias will give you similar body, but not many.

Look for blends with latakia or oriental tobaccos in them. If you like spicier cigars, try some blends with perique in them.

It's a different experience, though. One just doesn't get the volume of smoke from pipes that one can draw with cigars. If one puffs up a pipe in order to get a lot of smoke, one is likely to get tongue bite.

That's my experience, anyway. I'm far from a seasoned pipe smoker, but I've smoked a fair number of bowls over the years.

I am aware that McClelland makes a tobacco that is made up of dominican cigar leaf.

This is a link to one of the internet retailers that has it.www.4noggins.com/mcclellanddominicanglory100g.aspx

There is a maduro style available as well. I have not personally tried either of these, but they are on my list to.

I will back what lilbastage said about the English style tobacco, with varying amounts of latakia. I have had several

and you will know you are smoking a substantial tobacco. Start out with a Frog Morton english and go from there. JMO