• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Are cigars frowned upon at Little League practice?

Gonz

Ultra Runner
I make my baseball coaching debut tonight with my youngest son's team, they're 8 and 9 year olds.  This could be my big chance to be that guy all of us fondly remember, the salty old coach chewing on a cigar while barking out orders!

Probably some rule about the fields being "tobacco free".

Anyways, this ought to be interesting.  I've been coaching youth hockey for years now, I'm a head coach at summer camps, I coach coaches on how to coach, and I coach high level teams as well.  But I honestly don't know shit about baseball.  I didn't play past little league.  This will be a good exercise in whether or not the skills to effectively work with kids will transfer over to another sport.  I'm banking on the other coach having some actual baseball knowledge.

First of all buy Ted Williams' book on hitting. Second my neighbor is a high school football coach. Knows nothing about baseball and hockey, yet his skills with young boys transferred well to sports he knows very little about. Third, don't smoke. Bad form.

Doc

At 8/9, they need direction.  If you've coached at all, which it sounds like you have, you shouldn't have a problem managing the kids or their lack of an attention span.  It's all about fundamentals at this age.  Making contact, proper throwing and fielding and base running.  If you lose every game, yet excel at fundamentals/how to play the game, you'll be rewarded as they get older with winning teams. 

If it's their first kid pitch year, you live/die by your pitcher/catcher.  My advice, find a couple kids that can get it across the plate, doesn't matter the speed.  Also, find a catcher that can keep the ball in his glove or at least in front of him.