• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Quick question about Boveda packs

IanHummel

I have the packs in the humidor now for 6 days. On the packs it says not to open the humidor for 10 days (or when the RH is at 84%), but unfortunately, I don't have a glass top to check my digi. This is my first time using the boveda packs, so I was wondering if it's ok to open my humi real quick to check the RH or no? I tried searching for "seasoning" "boveda seasoning" "seasoning with Boveda" and a couple others before making this post and could find the answer to this.

Thanks in advance. :D

Patience is a virtue that all of us suffer from. A quick glance will not hurt it just use your judgment. Good luck with your project!

Ian, Though I've never used this method, it seems to me that the directions tell you not to open the humi for ten days so that you don't release any of the humidity. I don't think that briefly opening your humidor will release enough humidity to inhibit the seasoning process.

Sounds good. Thanks to both of your for your input. You are correct, it is very hard to let this beautiful humidor sit on my desk unused as my sticks sit in this big ugly box that I have. I'm going to see what it's at and let it sit for the rest of the period.

EDIT:
It's been seasoning for 5 days now and it's only at 70%. Anyone with experience using the packs before, is this normal? Oh well, I'll let it take its course for the next 5 days.

I wouldn't worry about it. It takes time to gradually saturate the wood to that level, so if you are at 70% rh that sounds about right.