• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Stocking up on popular cigars

SPIVY

THE STIG
Guys/ Gals,
I am relatively new to the cigar world and I am wondering if it is similar to how the wine world works, where people stock up on the highest rated and prized wines. The issue with the wine world is when resale comes to play. I def have some rare wines in my "cellar" that maybe I would sell one day. My question is do people buy some cigars for resale? I'm talking the Opus, Anejos, Sublimes...Stuff that people rave about. I see marketing coming into the equation more and more.

Cheers
Ed

Speaking from personal experience, I don't buy cigars merely for the resale value, I buy them to enjoy them. I know that some cigars' value increases as they are aged, but if you sell them on a website like CigarPass, you won't gain any markup revenue for age/rarity. Here we buy and sell cigars at MSRP. So, if you have a cigar you purchased in 05' for $13 USD, and resell it here, you'll get $13 for it.

Most of the people on here look at cigars as a hobby/lifestyle, rather than a business venture. Just my 0.02 cents. Good luck.

I don't plan on selling them, I and just intrigued because I see similar characteristic with the wine world.

Speaking from personal experience, I don't buy cigars merely for the resale value, I buy them to enjoy them. I know that some cigars' value increases as they are aged, but if you sell them on a website like CigarPass, you won't gain any markup revenue for age/rarity. Here we buy and sell cigars at MSRP. So, if you have a cigar you purchased in 05' for $13 USD, and resell it here, you'll get $13 for it.

Most of the people on here look at cigars as a hobby/lifestyle, rather than a business venture. Just my 0.02 cents. Good luck.

x2