• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

5 Vegas sticks won't stay lit

fyyrest0rm

I picked up a few 3-packs of 5 Vegas sticks on CB a couple weeks ago, and they've been sitting in my humi ever since. Finally decided to try one (I've been looking forward to smoking one of these for a while) and it wouldn't stay l it. Thinking it was a fluke, I tried another. It wouldn't stay lit, either. Humidity inside the humi is good (63-67 depending on ambient temp). I use 69% Boveda packs. I am pretty new to the cigar world, but I was under the impression that they should have acclimated by now. Any ideas, tips, suggestions?

Probably over humidified before they got to you... It will take a while for them to settle in your humidor.

What I usually do is to Dry Box (a small humidor set at 58% to 60% humidity) the cigars I am going to smoke for the week. If they are just purchased, I try to allow them to settle for about a month before I dry box them and smoke them.

Ah. So a couple of weeks to settle just isn't good enough, then. I'll leave them alone for a while, then. Thanks!

Or you could dry box by putting in a cedar box or cigar box without humidification for 4-5 hours or overnight.

C

Smoke shitty cigars; get shitty results.

Doc

Bought a fiver of Coronado Lanceros, tunneled like crazy. I let them rest 4 weeks, still tunneled, not quite as bad. Four months later, wonderful.

They're great smokes. Just took a while.

Sadly, most of the 5 vegas line isn't great.

CigSid said:
Probably over humidified before they got to you... It will take a while for them to settle in your humidor.

What I usually do is to Dry Box (a small humidor set at 58% to 60% humidity) the cigars I am going to smoke for the week. If they are just purchased, I try to allow them to settle for about a month before I dry box them and smoke them.