• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Aged cigars

cajunblaze

I am really a newbie to cigars and did a search and really could not find the information I was looking for, so here it goes.
I understand that there are premium brands of cigars. As these cigars get older their value increases. The more limited production the higher the value also.
Do people buy boxes of these, smoke a couple then age the rest?
Also, If you buy a not so special premium smoke or a more common cigar such as a Cohiba Black. Will the value go up with age?
When buying such cigars do you label their age?
Can a more common and not a premium cigar become a premium over time?
Thanks Cajunblaze

I am really a newbie to cigars and did a search and really could not find the information I was looking for, so here it goes.
I understand that there are premium brands of cigars. As these cigars get older their value increases. The more limited production the higher the value also.
Do people buy boxes of these, smoke a couple then age the rest? - Some do.
Also, If you buy a not so special premium smoke or a more common cigar such as a Cohiba Black. Will the value go up with age? - It depends on the market and quality as it ages. (see below re: 'rare')
When buying such cigars do you label their age? - Mostly, yes. But most of mine have box codes! :laugh:
Can a more common and not a premium cigar become a premium over time? - Good question, I'd say no...just 'rare', which may mean more expensive.
Thanks Cajunblaze

In general,

1) Only top-line cuban or extremely rare non-cuban cigars increase in value with age. Age of a certain cigar is validated by the appropriate box code, which lists the factory and date of production.

2) Premium cigars are "premium" because of the quality of the blend, quality of production or construction, exclusivity, price, and last but not least marketing.