• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Anybody else into bicycles?

JayBay

WTB Bratalias
I've been into bicycles virtually my whole life. I worked as a mechanic in a Schwinn shop (back when there was such a thing) in the 80's. I raced BMX, then got into riding ramps and flatland freestyle. Later I got into road bikes, and moutain bikes. Basically, if it has two wheels, I dig it.

Over the last few years, I've gotten into restoring oldies but goodies...mostly 80's stuff from my hey day. My current project is this 1989 Nishiki Ariel mountain bike. I found it in a Salvation Army store...paid 5 bucks for it! It was in need of some serious TLC, though. I tore it down to it's all chromoly frame and forks, cleaned, polished, and regreased everything. I slapped new pedals, tires, grips and seat on it. A new chain should arrive on my doorstep anyday now - and I'll be able to finish it up. Oh - I gotta put the brakes back on, too. That would be good.

DSC_0199.jpg

Here's a few others I've done recently. The first isn't vintage at all. It's a 2003 Mosh BMX 24" cruiser. It had a raw finish, and I had it powdercoated. I also put new pedals, cranks, seat and grips on it. I think it's initial cost was 10 bucks at a police auction.

Mosh_Cruiser.jpg

This one's a 1993 Robinson 20" BMX bike. I bought this in need of TLC off ebay...I think under 50 bucks originally. I rebuilt it with some old-school 80's flair.

im005416.jpg

Next is a Raleigh Gran Sport road bike I found leaning on the dumpster on trash day. I completely tore it down and rebuilt it, also. I think it's from the late 70's. I gave it a little updating to suit my tastes.

IM001029a.jpg