• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Arturo Fuente 8-5-8

Cigar Smokin Chef

OK I know that this isn't a super premium cigar but I am practicing my "tasting" and reviewing so I will post this review here.

Since it was a dreay wet day here in NJ I was smoking in my Computer/Hobby room enjoying a frosty St. Pauli Girl N.A. ( my wife has a drinking problem so I don't drink at home). Since I am new to cigars and haven't much of a collection to chose from I went with and old favorite. Arturo Fuente 8-5-8.

I am sure most of this information is well known but I will include it to practice my reviewing.

Length: 6"
Ring: 47
Cost: 3.75 (Holts)
Origin: Dominican Republic
Wrapper: Cameroon
Filler: Dominican
Binder: Dominican

123103073-M.jpg

Examining the cigar I found the construction to be slightly soft, with some Predominate veins in the medium brown wrapper. It was not particularly oily or glossy, nor dry. There did seem to be a big channel in the bunch.

123103083-S.jpg

I cut it with a v cutter and toasted the foot. Prelight draw showed nothing wrong and I lit it up. As expected the light was uneven because of the channel, but it evened out again after a few minutes.

The ash was distinctly black and white (salt & pepper), and somewhat flakey

123115834-S.jpg

The taste was medium bodied with a slightly vegetal (green?) flavor. No harshness in the smoke, very mellow mouth feel and no bite on the palette.

Ash feel off on its own at about 2"

All in all a nice smoke for the money, but I need something a bit more exciting to review.

123115061-S.jpg

I had one of these a few days ago and overall I thought it's not bad.

Here's my notes on this one:

A Fuente -
Gran Reserva Flora Fina 8/5/8 Maduro
-----------------------------------------------

Size - 6" x 48
Origin - Dominican Republic
Wrapper - Dominican Republic (maduro)