• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Bad tasting cigars...

Shagaroo

Recently I smoked a couple different cigars that were recommended to me that tasted like what I imagine a flaming tire would taste like. The two cigars were a Helix Super 8 and a Punch Gran Cru. What I understand is the Helix is a decent cigar and the Punch is supposed to be a pretty good cigar. Were these cigars to "young" or did I get bad information and they normally taste like burning rubber?

I am new to cigars and just purchased a humidor so I have been mostly smoking the cigars within a day or 2 of purchasing them.

Many cigars are way wetter than optimal at cigar stores and especially online merchants.

That wouldn't make a great cigar taste like burning rubber though. It would just make the cigars not burn as well and would alter the taste somewhat.

Plastic has been found in cigars before........

Lets just hope that is not what you smoked last night. You did take the bands OFF right?

How about the cello? you removed that too?

LOL

I tried a Helix and they are not for me, now the punch however is a good cigar. SO I don't know what the problem was, but burning rubber should not have been one of them.

better luck next time

Try a Onyx Reserve Mini Belicoso.............They are good smokes when you first start out.

Phil

Shagaroo said:
Recently I smoked a couple different cigars that were recommended to me that tasted like what I imagine a flaming tire would taste like. The two cigars were a Helix Super 8 and a Punch Gran Cru. What I understand is the Helix is a decent cigar and the Punch is supposed to be a pretty good cigar. Were these cigars to "young" or did I get bad information and they normally taste like burning rubber?

I am new to cigars and just purchased a humidor so I have been mostly smoking the cigars within a day or 2 of purchasing them.