• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Band Geeks on CP

DrummerJohn

Hey guys,

I was just reading the iPass thread and there seem to be a lot of guys with musical backgrounds in there. I was wondering how many guys have had experience in marching band, drum corps, or music in general. Maybe we can all share our experience... in my day job, I run into folks all the time who are participants or fans of marching band or drum corps and it has had a profound effect on their life outside of music.

I am a musician who was in a state champion marching band in high school. I attended the University of N. Texas and marched in the snareline for the Phantom Regiment Drum Corps in Rockford, IL. I currently teach the drumline for my alma mater, Homestead High School and I am also the caption head for a WGI Independant drumline called the Quest Percussion Ensemble.

It is cool to see other musicians that are into good smokes... :thumbs:

Later,
DJ

Concert band / marching band / jazz band in high school (I played the drums).....led me into music after high school. Got interested in recording / concert sound. Used to own my own 4000 seat PA system and did a couple of small west coast club tours. Built private recording studios / ran sessions for a living, and got a chanct to start up a big studio on Hollywood, CA (the "Big Time"). Did that for about six months, hated it (worked for a tyrant) but I did get to run sessions in most of the major studios in Hollywood...that was pretty cool. Came back to the Pacific Northwest and finished my engineering degree (BSEE).

Now I'm a hardware geek for a "really big" employer here in the Portland, OR area... :cool: I still look at the nice used sets of drums and think "...hmmm...."... :p

Best Regards - B.B.S.