• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Buying a new TV? Surround Speakers? Remote?

selfevident

Hello there,

As you can probably see I am pretty new to Cigar Pass. I registered on Valentines Day. Really? What the hell is wrong with me?

Anyways, I thought I would extend my assistance. I am a design engineer for an Audio Video company here in Chicago. I've designed everything from huge live sound systems for churches, High Def Video-Conferencing in board rooms, and game-test areas (flat panel display, 7.1 surround, the works) for EA games studios. Ive also done a ton of programming of control systems (touchpanels and such).

If anyone has any questions (i.e. how do I do distributed audio in my house?, 1080p?, 1080i?, what tv should I get to play video games on and stream computer videos to?, blah blah blah) please feel free to send me a pm. I'm not selling anything. I've just spent 40+ hours a week for the last 10 years dorking out on this stuff and thought I would spread the wealth around.

So honestly if you have any questions about anything at all please feel free to ask me. And thanks for making this such a kick ass place to hang out on.

Here is a question I have - I am looking for a small HDTV for the back porch - no bigger than 26" - My question is are there any smaller sets in this size that utilize the cable card technology? I would rather not have a STB outside. If there is nothing, then what small set would you recommend? Thanks.

Glad you can offer. I find myself asking here on all types of questions. that is what this community is all about.
I read a nice article in Saturdays paper in the tech section regarding piecemealing a surround system together on the cheap. Basically it said skip the surround in a box and start with a nice $300 unit and buying as you can afford.