• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Cable Modems

PSTAN

The wife and I have finally had enough of our dial-up and NONE of the phone companies will extend the broad band to the end of the neighborhood so we are going to make a change.

I'll admit I am no computer expert, I can get by and know when to ask questions so here is one. Can anyone recommend a good, not outrageous price cable modem? I would like to eventually use a wireless hub as well.

Thanks for the advice.

Phillip

A cable modem is included with your service of cable internet service.

Yes they offer one, then they wanted to charge me for it and I wasn't really too crazy about "renting" someone elses equipment. I have that magic "break it" touch.

If you "break" their modem they give you a replacement, no charge. You break one you own, you pay for a new one.

Cable modems these days are cheap. my first cable modem cost me 500 bucks (yes, long time ago) the rental thing is a sham, they get you for the monthly charge and it adds up to double/triple or more of what it is worth. Circuit City runs specials every now and again and so does Best Buy and Fry's. Just make sure to ask tha cable co which modems they recommend and which are compatable with their service. The cable co sells them as well, I got mine at compusa for 50 bucks (motorolla surfboard SB3100) as for a cable modem breaking, it has never happened to my or anyone else i know with cable modems.

I just signed up for cable internet service and rent the modem from Adelphia. I realize that I could buy one cheaper, but this way...it's not my problem. If it breaks, they take it back. I get service out of it (so far they've been good) and once again...it's not my problem. If I owned it, it would be. BTW, I am very happy with the internet service so far. 1 1/2 months and only 1 hour of down time for service. Not too bad.