• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Cancer refresher

Tony Bones

Grundalier
I generally smoke one cigar per week. Although I don't dwell on it, I am aware that smoking is not great for you. I don't inhale and cringe at the thought of those who do.

Tell me guy's, what's the latest news on the effects of cigar smoking?

I'm not trying to be a joy-kill here, but I think this info. is good stuff to have out there. I've always adhered to the everything in moderation philosophy.

I am not a doctor, but my mother is, and she's worked in the Oncology field for years, and I've read a number of articles on the subject. If you want a doctor's opinion, seek out your doctor.

The issue with cancer and anything is repeated exposure. Your body is a pretty good filter. If you have a drink a week, your body can shrug that off without a problem. If you have one really fatty meal a week, no problem.

The problem comes in when you repeatedly expose your body to something harmful, without giving it time to recover and clean itself. Some people are more prone to cancer, heart disease, etc. than others. People who are more prone to it are those you need to minimize their exposure to things like not exercising, not eating well, smoking, etc.

Cigarettes are one of the worst things you can do, because you inhale the smoke directly, and people who smoke cigarettes almost never have just one a day or a couple a week. They flood their bodies with carcinogens without giving it time to clean itself.

Cigar smoking is second only to pipe smoking in being the safest way to enjoy tobacco, provided that you do it on a moderate basis. If you smoke 1 cigar a day or less, and maintain an otherwise healthy lifestyle, the impact to you should be minimal. You are far worse off if you eat McDonalds every day than if you smoke a cigar every day.