• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Considering getting my first "real" pipe

dlow

Noob
Hey gang,

I'm considering moving up from the trusty corn-cob pipe to something that's got a little more character. Don't get me wrong, I love my corn cobs, but I'd rather get a nice one at this point. I've been smoking pipes for about 8 months now and I smoke about once every two weeks (I'm mostly a cigar guy). Now that I'm sure that this is something I'm not going to get tired of, I think I'm ready to make an investment in something better. Maybe some of you veterans can help me?

My first question is: Would it be better to start with an estate pipe or a new one? It looks like estate pipes can save me a fair amount of coin, but I don't know if this is wise given that I'm pretty inexperienced. If I do go the estate rout, my guess is that I would be looking for one thats not burned around the rim, doesn't have any cracks or bad wear. Anything else?

Are there any brands I should be seeking? I'd like to spend somewhere in the $65 to $150 range. Any brands to stay away from?

Anything I should know about the shape of the pipes I consider? Does this affect the smoke any or is it just a matter of style?

Finally, should I even consider anything other than a briar pipe? I ask b/c some of the Meerschaum pipes are pretty darn cool looking, but they seem high maintenance.

For the record, I only plan to smoke unflavored tobacco in this pipe (primarily just one blend to be honest). I'll use the corn cobs for when I try the flavored stuff. Thanks ahead of time!

I actually prefer my meerschaum to my briars, and I don't find it to be high-maintenance at all. In fact it's much more 'forgiving' as it always smokes cool and even, so I don't have to pay as much attention as I do when smoking the briar pipes.