• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

"correcting a burn", "tunneling"

Eins

Do I have to mention I'm new to this? I think I sort of know now how to light one up and I know you're supposed to smoke them s l o w l y, which I'm good at. I also turn them with a draw and in between draws.

I have experienced uneven burns, and cigars have gone out on me.
Uneven burns seem to happen, when I don't turn the cigar often enough, and strangely, it is the upper area that doens't burn. I always thought heat rises, so the upper edge would burn best, but it seems to be the other way around.

Anyway, when, at which point, and how do you 'correct a burn'?
And, while we are talking about it, what is tunneling and how do you cope with it?
What else should a newbie know to get better results out of his new hobby?

Thank you!

The bottom will actually burn better, due to there being more oxygen and less smoke, so turn the slower burning portion towards the bottom.

What RH are you storing your cigars at? A higher one will promote poorer burns.

If you smoke it too slowly it will go out too, so you have to balance between too fast and too slow...maybe once a minute at the most, once every 3-5 at the least?(someone help me out here).

What do you use to light your cigar? I found it hard to light with just a regular flame before, and instead used a torch to light the thing, without puffing, btw. Now I find using the a flame easier, I find it good to toast the foot, and singe the wrapper about a 16th to an 8th of an inch back so that the filler has some breathing room.

Tunneling is when the middle burns, but the outer filler, binder and wrapper don't...it sucks, I believe usually is a due to badly constructed cigars.

I touch up my uneven burns with aforementioned torch...I just burn whatever stubborn parts are lagging so the ash is even all around.