• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Does anyone have an opinion on Segundos?

egeem2

I am pretty new to smoking cigars, and I am on a pretty limited budget. A buddy of mine told me about segundos. Which for those that don't know are seconds, meaning not quite up to standards, of some pretty well known brands. Anyway, I ordered a bundle of Old Fashioned 550's. I also ordered a decent sampler pack just to have some others to compare. Until I find what I like. The Old Fashioned 550's are supposed to be segundos (or seconds) of the Macanudo Baron Von Rothchild. I really like them a lot, but...

My question is this. Is there a drastic difference in taste, draw, etc. in the segundos as compared to the "higher quality" cousin? Are the appearences all on the outside as some suggest, or are there actual differences in quality fo fill, etc.?

Thanks.

My recollection (and your mention of the Macanudo brand bears it out) is that the Old Fashioneds are seconds of some of the General Cigar premium brands (Mac, Partagas, etc).

I would look into the Consuegra brand - seconds of Villazon brands such as Punch, HdM and JR Ultimates if you're looking for cheap, tasty seconds.

Catalogs, retailers, etc. will tell you that the differences between firsts and seconds are purely cosmetic, but this isn't always the case. They can still be a good bang for your buck, IMO.

Better still is smoking fewer, but better cigars.

Thanks for the reply and the advice on the Consuegra brand. I have not heard f them, but I will look them up.

I only smoke maybe 1-2 cigars a week right now. Really depends on what I am doing. I just didn't want to spend a lot if I wasn't going to enjoy it. So, I picked up the seconds thinking that they were a pretty good smoke for a really reasonable price.