• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Espresso over ice question

Gonz

Ultra Runner
Reaction score
So call me what you want (sissy, wuss, whatever) but I drink Iced Latte's every day. For the last six or seven years at least. Simple four shots over ice with milk.

The other day while traveling I stopped at some little mom and pop coffee stand and got one, and the Mom was training the daughter. She scolded her daughter for attempting to put the freshly pulled espresso shots directly over the ice, saying that will make it bitter.

Now I've never heard such a thing, and in fact every morning I do that exact thing. Am I failing here? Is that lady right and I learned something new?

Thanks.

Sounds like BS to me.

I worked as a barista for a number of years (a long time ago) and don't recall anything like that.

You know what they say, ignorance is bliss! :sign:

I think in this case it's an old wives tale....................you're still a sissy! :p

You're drinking hot coffee over ice...with milk.

linky
Now I got to try that out. I was wondering is the coffee to water ratio the same.

edit: found my answer
1/3 cup ground coffee (medium-coarse grind is best)
Milk (optional).

1. In a jar, stir together coffee and 1 1/2 cups water. Cover and let rest at room temperature overnight or 12 hours.

2. Strain twice through a coffee filter, a fine-mesh sieve or a sieve lined with cheesecloth. In a tall glass filled with ice, mix equal parts coffee concentrate and water, or to taste. If desired, add milk.

Yield: Two drinks.