• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Grand "Illusion" Reservas

Siglo-Man

Reaction score
I was very disappointed the other day when I was offered a GR from a "very reputable" local smoke shop. I have been dropping by there for many years and the shop, and it's owner, are well known in the city for priding them selves in having top quality product. When I was pondering what to try I was offered a GR which was plucked from a large ziplock bag which must have had 35+ of them in it. Absolutely shocked I asked to inspect one and to be honest it looked great. The wrapper didn't seem to have the magical velvety sheen my GRs at home have but this was no definite and everything else looked on par ( besides there being so many loose in a ziplock). Then of course my next question was "how much"? When I was quoted $40 each my heart sunk. Are even avid smokers and aficionados so out of touch that this stick can be offered at $40 with no one questioning it? Then I started doubting my self for a second and doing the calculations of what they retail for and figuring even if there was keystone margins in these boxes to distributors it still puts these GRs at a cost of over $50 ea. A note all.. beware out there! I'm pretty good at spotting flaws and slightly off bands ect and this fake was pretty spot on. If this guy had them in an authentic GR box and doubled the price I probably would have been sold. They are out there and obviously in numbers. I still wonder if even the owner knows what he has, or doesn't have. Just to enlighten us all I'll get one and do a side by side to my GR and post all the details. It's scary out there.

If they were offered to you at a B&M in the States, no matter how reputable. They have a 99% chance of being fake. ;)