• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Homemade Humidors

DraKhen99

Hi all...

I'm new to smoking, but have always been a do-it-yourselfer when it comes to my hobbies.

Is there any way a person can make a good humidor by themselves, using widely available materials?

I was thinking I could build one with foam from an art supply store to separate cigars, plastic sheet for the sides and top, with a rubber seal and space for a hydrometer and a "hydrating device" [ie, the sponge or whatever is in humidors I see]. What do you all think? Am I nuts?

Yeah, but couldn't I build a nice active system using sheet plastic? I think it would be cheaper than cutting up an existing cooler. And more spiffy too :)

Why cut up the cooler? Just keep your cigars in boxes and voila!

Well, under 50$ + an hour of your time + maybe 150 smokes room = coolidor.

no cutting up cooler needed. look for other posts about it.

I have a similar question to DraKhen99. I, too, wish to build a home humidor. I want something that looks nice...like a piece of furniture. Anyone have any ideas? See the problem with a coolerdor is that it looks bad to use one as your coffee table! Here in Houston, it gets much to hot to keep the coolerdor in the garage, we don't have basements, and I don't have spare closet space. Therefore, it's going to be a piece of furniture, and I would like it to look as such.