• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Long & skinnies

investandprosper

I'm just over 4 years into this hobby, and I have started gravitating towards 42 rg smokes and below. Cohiba Lanceros and PL Montecarlos are hitting the spot.<br /><br />When I was just starting out, it seemed a lot of the older guys preferred the long & skinnies. Is it just something that happens with experience? More appreciation for the subtle flavors, and the patience of just sipping a cigar?

I am still fairly new at this, about three years now, and my favorite vitolas are lanceros and coronas. They do seem to have better flavors to me, and they are just so much more comfortable to hold and smoke than the larger rings are.

Lanceros are for unctuous, thin mustachioed, panama hat wearing pimps. Stay away from them. Noobs can't handle it.

Doc

I love petite coronas, and prefer anything from the classic corona gorda down. I still smoke larger ring gauge cigars due to some being quite good. For my palate, it seems like the Cubans really do the PC best. I honestly don't know if it is the Tobacco, blending, etc., or all of the factors.

I'm real leary about Lanceros. To me, it is all about showcasing a great wrapper, and I've had too many current Lanceros that just didn't do it for me. Will give a nod to Fuente and the Cubans though, as all I've had from them were great.

I thought it might have something to do with my panama hats and white trash mustache.

investandprosper said:
How about a Lancero with a fedora?
That, would be a fashion faux paux of tragic proportions. Everyone knows a toro pairs with a fedora.

Doc