• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Montecristo #2

flamchop

65/65
I received this smoke in a trade a while back. This is my first time smoking the legendary Montecristo #2.

The cigar had some give in the fingers... not too firm. I've heard about how these can be hit or miss as far as the taste and the draw, I figured what better time to find out than on the last day of 2008. Perfect time to bring the year to a close with a Cuban that has a few years on it.

I clipped and took a draw. Mostly a cedary tobacco flavor... no grass, no ammonia. The wrapper was in decent shape, the only flaw being a few nicks around the foot from handling. I noticed a fair amount of tooth, much more than on the Monte Edmundos I've been smoking.

I torched the foot and was greeted with a slight coffee flavor and the faintest amount of spice and cream. After a few draws I had to re-clip as it seemed to be tightening up on me. The draw never really opened up until the last few inches, but I was able to get enough smoke out so it wasn't too bad. For me, the smoke remained mellow throughout with flavors of very mild coffee and woodiness. As the smoke progressed, I felt the flavors and the power getting stronger. The spicy flavors picked up around the halfway point, and by the final third they were gone and it was just wood, leather, and tobacco until the end... with a lasting finish. No burn problems at all.