• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

My first choir concert.

MrErskine

I know this has nothing to do with cigars, but I am so proud of my choirs that I want to let everyone know.

I am a new teacher, and new to the school that I am at. I am a middle school choir director, and, frankly, middle school has always scared me. I came into a bad situation. I had two, total kids, between three choirs, and nothing to build off of. There was no sixth grade choir last year, so the seventh grade choir is brand-spanking new, and, of course, the sixth grade choir is just getting a jump start. My eighth graders have had 4 directors over the past three years and you can tell that they are wounded from so many people telling them that they are not good enough.

When I came in, I made no apologies for the expectations that I have for them because I know that the talent level is there. The sixth grade took off like a shot, and I was excited from the beginning. They kept getting better and I kept raising the bar for them. The seventh grade grew and grew and grew for 6 weeks, and then it took another 6 for them to start acting and participating as I set for them in my expectations. The eighth grade... Well, they have never had one true set of expectations and they have struggled with me, and fought with me.

Even up to yesterday, I wasn't sure about the eighth grade and how they were going to do. I wasn't worried about the other two, but I felt confident.