• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Poor Kimbo :-))

jeht2000

bodybuilder for life
Had to work so i caught the recording of kimbo getting his ass knocked out. Terrible thing i tell ya. Hopefully, it will make him train harder and come back better.

He's still an animal! Just had a bad night.

Holy crap.

Usually you just look at the guy and you have lost.

Brian

I don't really follow MMA or any of that sort of thing very closely, but to my untrained eye, it seemed like things were stopped pretty prematurely. It certainly didn't seem much like the few knock down, drag out fights I remember from the UFC 10 years ago. Putting aside the notion that Kimbo has no training, doesn't belong or whatever, did anyone else think that it was stopped way too soon?

I am by no means an expert on the sport but I have a good friend who is a trainer and referee for fights in the Midwest. He told me recently that the refs are trained to err on the side of protecting the fighters. If someone is in a helpless position then the fight is stopped...that's it...over...too bad if it takes 14 seconds. The theory is based on the extreme danger of broken bones, serious lacerations or worse. I think the old MMA days have led to the belief that they would rather stop the fight than let it get to a point of danger.

I do think that there is something about television ratings and the increased popularity of the sport that makes this sort of protection crucial. People will watch if everyone is going to be okay in the end. People are less likely to watch if the fighters are seriously injured during every match.

Just saying what I have heard.