• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Port with Smokes?

slider9499

I am a wine guy, so I can match up smokes with almost any kind of wine. But my father-in-law, amongst others, has told me that Port is the way to go when it comes to cigars. I know very little about Port :whistling: so I go to the pros when I look for advice :cool:

What have you heard or experienced with Port?
Any suggestions as to which Port to purchase [for a total newbie]?
Which smokes would match up well?

My advice would be to go to your local grocer and try some out. Tawny's are lighter if that's your thing. Some decent choices to start with would be Dow, Sandleman's, Fonseca, etc. Vintage port will run you some $$ but you can go with a Late Bottle Vintage and spend around $20-$40.

Good luck

Here's a good reference to check out:

Click me

Good link Leebo.
I dig Port with my smokes (I'm not an aficianado on either).
I also like other wines and Bourbon (not mixed together :rolleyes: ) with a good cigar.

Mmmmmm... Porto.. one of my favorites :thumbs: Check out these links for a little more information on brands: Premium Port Wines, The Vintage Port Site.

Smith Woodhouse, Taylor, and Grahams are some of my favorite Vintage Ports. But there are so many out there at great values, Fonseca Bin 27, Graham Six Grapes,
Quita do Noval "The Raven" are great examples of QPR Ports. Each have their own characteristics so do pick up a bottle of each and check your palate.

I also recommend that you check out some Late Harvest wines, especially Zinfandels and Syrahs. Late Harvest wines are also sweet wines but are not fortified as the Portos are. Late Harvest wines are exactly as their name describes, the fruit is harvested later in the season when the brix are high.

:cool: