• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Satellite TV question

Eshaw99

Just livin' the dream
We moved here to Indiana and bought our house last April. At the time, our cable provider was Insight Communications. About 2 months ago, they were bought out by Comcast. We've been getting letters for weeks informing us of the switch and to be prepared for changes in our service. Well, we've had no change in our service at all except for the fact that our bill last month jumped up 30 dollars :angry: . For that 30 extra dollars a month, I get exactly not one damn thing more that I wasn't already getting before. I told them that the next call they get from me would be the one to cancel my service while my new dish is being installed...

I've always had cable, so I have no experience with satellite TV. Should I get DirecTV or Dish Network? I don't have an HDTV, so I'm not really worried about their HD service. Does anyone know the pros and cons of each? The only reviews I can find seem to come from biased sources.

Damn cable company...

I have had Directv for 8 years, so I can't say what is better about the other service. However, you should know that when it rains real hard, the service goes out.

I've had Directv since day one. Except for rain fade I've had no problems.

The signal will start to freeze and break up. It's nothing like when an anolog TV loses it's signal. Depending on how strong the signal is will determine how much cloud cover will screw it up. Kind of an ambiguous answer, I know. Usually a downpour-type rain or snowfall will do it. Light rain or average cloud cover won't bother you.