• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Smoking a Beef Brisket

Gunpowder

Cigar Search & destroy V 1.20
Funny either this hasn't been discussed or the search engine stinks. I want to smoke my first beef brisket. It is soaking right now in a beef brisket marinade from the store. Any tips?

I'm not an expert, but slow and steady wins the race. Keep the heat constant. I like hickory and/or apple wood for smoking. I've always used a dry rub for smoking. Just did some ribs for the football game last Sunday.

Let us know how it turns out!

x2.

There isn't a whole lot to smoking a brisket. I too prefer a rub. The first time I did it, I followed the instructions on the Dizzy Pig BBQ website found here. It came out perfect.

I should add that I have the pork thing down pretty well and even have my first pay to smoke job coming up.

I use a digital thermometer (polder). Put it in the thick part of the flat and cook to 185 deg. Cook at 210 to 240 deg. It will be tender & moist.

When smoking a brisket you want the temp to be 125 150 and yes do not get in a hurry will need to sit for hours also when i do mine save that marinade and put it in a spray bottle to give it a little spray once in a while hope it turns out well for you

Turned out nicely. Had a Texas Toast and Brisket sandwich last night with some sweet baby Rays :love:

whats a brisket???

The gods' gift to Texas. :cool:

Offset wood-fired smoker, not too hot, and pretty much all day. Here on the Coast we like to slice it onto warm tortillas with a little Trappey's Red Devil, but usually you eat it off butcher paper with pickles, onions, a jalapeno and some white bread on the side, and a Big Red to drink.

~Boar

How did that Brisket come out? Have you done any since?