• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

So, I went golfing this weekend...

martinman

And their humi, was packed with ISOM sticks.. What gives? There was some blurb about legal importing on the outside of the rather large humidor - it looked pretty official too.

Anyway, being a noob, I'm wondering about the legality of all of this.

Don't know exactly what their deal is, however there is one golf course here that has a humi full of Cuban cigars. But it was mostly the popular stuff, which kinda makes me wonder not so much about the legality but the authenticity of the whole thing. I did have one of the Cohiba robustos and it tasted really good, but still I dunno?

There are legal ways to get Cuban cigars into the United States. However, most, if not all have to do with diplomatic channels or expatriots. I'm not clear on the rules for non-citizens, so I won't go there. Now, I'm sure I'm missing some information here (someone jump in if you know), but I think those are the two legal channels. Anyway, I know for a fact that it is illegal to sell them. The "Trading with the Enemies Act" specifically forbids the exchange of American currency for Cuban goods...except in those special circumstances. Even if they got them into the country legally, they should not be able to seel them.

Am I on track here FOGs?

Anyway, I'm with golfgar...I'd be concerned more about their authenticity than their legality. ;)

I know of a place in the CHicago burbs that sells Cohibas for like $50 a box...all varieties, including glass top.

They don't advertise it, but they're obviously fake.

There are a couple courses around here that have "Cohiba" cigars in humidors, none of which are real. I'm not sure which course you were at, OR whether they were legit, but I doubt it.