• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

What's a good pipe tobacco for a newb?

vortex

"A billion Eddie Barzoons jogging into the future
I have a briar and used to smoke Captain Black and Borkum Riff Whiskey back in the day. I've since gotten into cigars and it opened a whole new world of tobacco enjoyment. Now I wonder what I missed in my near-sighted experience with pipe tobacco.

I'd like to try some of the better blends that have somewhat universal appeal.
I know all tastes are different but what is the PSD4 of the pipe tobacco world?
Any suggestions would be welcome as I am a total newb at this. :blush:

There are so many more pipe tobaccos out there than there are cigars. It's hard to define just one or two that would be right. I just started smoking a pipe about 4 weeks ago, and I already have about 20 different blends in small 1 to 4 oz packages / tins / baggies. I would suggest going to a good B&M and tell them your taste preferences in cigars. They'll help you out.

Also, if you are going to smoke both aromatics and English blends, do it in seperate pipes. The flavors will start to blend. Imagine a sweet latakia.
vomit-smiley-007.gif

Also, if you are going to smoke both aromatics and English blends, do it in seperate pipes. The flavors will start to blend. Imagine a sweet latakia.
vomit-smiley-007.gif

Great point. I meant to mention that but forgot.

My favorite old stand by that I smoke out of just one pipe now and nothing else is the CAO Da Vinci made by Dan Tobacco out of the EU. :thumbs:

Trying to compare pipe tobacco to a cigar is not an easy task. Been smoking pipes for 10 years and I've seen so many pipe tobacco's it isnt even funny. Tons more pipe tobacco than there are Cigar names like Partagas, padron, Fuente, etc etc etc. You get the idea I hope.