• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Who here likes vodka

beyond the band

cantankerous newb
OK I have a question about vodka. I have no knowledge at all.

I am not talking about that crap in the plastic bottle your grandfather made his screwdrivers out of either.

Tell me a little about the vodka tasting lifestyle.

Do you shoot or sip?

Tell me some about the little nuances in taste that vodka gives.

So gentlemen tell me your favorites. How does a tasting work? What is the best way?

Is there a particular cigar that is a creat companion?

Tell me tell me tell me.

Got something little that I want to give away and I need to know the best person to give it to.

Its not the biggest thing in the world trust me but its pretty freaking cool.

One thing I can tell you is that this belongs in the Saloon. ;)

I approach vodka tasting just like any other tasting, whether wine, cigars, or food. Just concentrate on the aroma (nose), taste (palate), and finish. I wouldn't shoot; I would serve chilled and sip. The key to tasting anything, in my opinion, is holding the wine/smoke/spirit is one's mouth, rather than just gulping.

Some of my favorite vodkas are:
Chopin - very high viscosity and flavorful
Youri Dolgoruki - can be found in Russian specialty stores, very smooth
Imperia - similar to the Youri above

Personally, I prefer to sip instead of shoot. If I am going to shoot vodka, its gonna be somebodys crappy 5 o clock stuff in a jello shot lol.

As to the nuances, I think most come from aroma, as well as whether it burns going down, or the severity thereof. Some of the different varietys I have tried, you can pick out hints of how it was distilled, etc. And of course you have your various flavored vodkas, most of which I never touch.