• Hi Guest - Come check out all of the new CP Merch Shop! Now you can support CigarPass buy purchasing hats, apparel, and more...
    Click here to visit! here...

Would you age a mild cigar? e.g. AVO

would you age mild cigars? e.g. AVO

• yes

Votes: 11 57.9%
  • no

Votes: 8 42.1%

• Total voters

collegestu

I bought a box of AVO classic and wanted to know if I should bother ageing them. I know in most cases a cigar becomes smoother as it marrys the other tabacco with age. The problem that I see is that they are already mild as it is and I dont know/think ageing would enhance the flavor.

Any help would be great.

I'm no expert but I just read some good information on ageing cigars. Cigar Ageing

This is a snippet from that page.
"The best way to determine the impact of time on your cigars is to smoke one occasionally from an aging box and to take detailed tasting notes. I am certain that you will see drastic improvement in the quality of your smoking experience as you allow your cigars to age. However, regardless of the age, once you find a box that no longer is improving with time consider the smoking lamp lit and enjoy them!" :thumbs:

I bought a box of AVO classic and wanted to know if I should bother ageing them. I know in most cases a cigar becomes smoother as it marrys the other tabacco with age. The problem that I see is that they are already mild as it is and I dont know/think ageing would enhance the flavor.

Any help would be great.

Unless you smoke that one box reguarly I think you'll find that those sticks will age by default. By that I mean that as long as you keep a regular rotation of cigars going there's no way you can smoke all those cigars in the next couple years. Hell, I still have a fiver of Perdomo Lot 23s that I bought almost three years ago. Not because they're not good cigars, but because I keep a steady rotation of many other brands and vitolas.